Optimizing the Speed of Your Computer Processing Tim

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Optimizing the Speed of Your Computer Processing Tim

There's several factors within your computer system that can be tweaked to optimize your computer's performance and processing speed.

As I've seen multiple related questions scattered in various forums, I'd like to post and share some information and insight that I've recently gained. Also, I apologize in advance for being a bit long on this blog.

BACKGROUND:
    I'm not a computer expert. I'm merely a hobbyist. As implied by the handle I picked, I enjoy playing with computers and related gadgets.

Related hobbies includes: producing family slideshows using Adobe and Sony video products, standing up and supporting IP wireless home security camera network, and integrating all videos on NAS based home entertainment HD TV system.

I purchased the full DVDFab system in Feb 2011. So, you know that I'm just a novice DVDFab user.

DISCUSSION:
    I initially ran the DVDFab Blu-ray ripper using a stock Toshiba M645 Satellite laptop with:
    - CPU: Intel core i5-460M 2.53GHz Win7/64
    - Intel HM55 Express Chipset
    - GPU: Intel HD Graphics with 64M-1696MB dynamically allocated memotry
    - RAM: 4GHz DDR3

My Toshiba is no slouch when it comes to speed. The baseline stats for ripping blu-ray DVD's to mp4.h264 was between 2 to 3 hours per BD movie (specific time obviously depended on length of movie). I noticed that my FPS count was about 18 fps max.

I wanted a computer that provide more horsepower in terms of speed and flexibility for growth, so several weeks ago I finished putting together my new min-tower based computer, which included the following:
    - CPU: Intel i7/950 3.06GHZ (Quad Core)
    - RAM: 6 GB Corsair DDR3 Dominator 1600MHZ
    - SSD: 2 ea Crucial C300 128GB in Raid0 (C-drive)
    - HDD: 2 ea Hitachi 2TB 32MB/7200rpm in Raid0 (for data)
    - GPU: XFX Radeon HD 5770