Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can somebody spend a few minutes to explain . . .

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can somebody spend a few minutes to explain . . .

Ok guys,
    I have been using DvDFab for several years to back up my DvDs, in the last few months I have started using Fab to put my DvDs on a hard drive to use with my WD HD TV Live and it works great.
    But I find myself wondering if I am making the best files for this purpose.
    Can somebody spend a few minutes to explain how important stuff like Frame rate and file size is… other stuff like that? Also something about making sure I have the right resolution.
    I typically use “Generic AVI, H264 and audiocopy” settings with a set file size of 2000.
    This works but I am afraid that when I replace my TV, a 55” rear projection that is breaking for one of these 47”-50” plasmas that I will be disappointed in my movies.
    Oh, I don’t have any HD movies, just standard DvDs with no plans of changing in the near future.
    I pretty much follow GregiBoys “Best Practice” walk through but I think if I had a better understanding what the setting are for I can make something I will be happy with.

So, if anybody has time to explain some of this stuff and the patience for a couple follow up questions please let me know.

Thread moved from Blu-ray forum to General Questions.

Comment

This is a great question auge 28.
      I have always used the preset options and assumed you were getting the best possible quality/format as long as you copied to DVD9 (double layer). Of course, once you rip the DVD (say to DVD5) that is what you have on your HD and cannot make a DVD9 unless you re-rip using DVD9.
      If your talking Blu-ray...I have no knowledge of these, have not started using blu-ray yet...but would love to learn more.
      Are you using Blu-rays?
      Jim

Comment

I think you have it nearly right.....

H264 = Yes
        Audiocopy = Yes