Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to DVDFab and needing some help

Hello all
    Im new to using DVDFab, and have a some questions. I am wanting to put our dvd's onto an external hard drive for my husband who is a long haul trucker. He will be watching them on his laptop. How do I go about doing htis correctly, and what sort of program does he need to be able to watch the movies? I have looked at the tutorials, but am still having some probs with understanding what I am doing and any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

The simplest and easiest method is to use DVD Copy and simply rip the original disc (select this as your Source)
    to the external hdd (select this as your Target).

For playback, install VLC or Media Player Classic...or both.
    Both are freeware software players that are easily installed (and cheaply...as in free!) on your husband's laptop.
    Both players are excellent.

If hdd space becomes an iissue or there are other stumbling blocks, this can get a bit more complicated.

Let us know how you get on.

Comment

dvdfab help

Thanks so much for your response, but do I install the VLC on the external hard drive or on the laptop?

Comment

Nope, install on the laptop since your husband will be utilizing the laptop for playback.
        Best to utilize the ext hdd just for storage

You're welcome

Comment

DVD help

I got the movies onto the external hd, and then installed VLC. I must be doing something wrong because when I playback the movies there isnt any sound. In the folder of the movie there are 5 or 6 different icons? to choose from to play with VLC, not sure what I'm supposed to do?
          Is there something I should be doing in Fab before copying?

Comment

Originally posted by kiwi kid View Post