This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to designate DVD5/DVD9 media

I am very new to DVDFab (just registered a minute ago) and am using the trial version that I downloaded a week ago. I have copied a few DVDs using the DVD to DVD format, and have found it to be quite simple and speedy for making copies. However, I always get a message telling me that a DVD5 medium will copy (less than 4.7Gb) but when I put a 4.7 Gb blank in, there is a message informing me that no DVD medium is detected. If I put an 8.5 Gb DVD+R blank in the DVD recorder, I then receive a message that a 4.7 Gb DVD+R will suffice. Unless I go ahead and use (waste) a DL 8.5 Gb DVD+R it will not start recording. However, it will record to an 8.5 Gb DVD+R. How can I specify that I want to use a smaller DVD when the occasion calls for it? Thanks for any help!

Harry T.
    Harry T

Originally posted by Harry T View Post
    I am very new to DVDFab (just registered a minute ago) and am using the trial version that I downloaded a week ago. I have copied a few DVDs using the DVD to DVD format, and have found it to be quite simple and speedy for making copies. However, I always get a message telling me that a DVD5 medium will copy (less than 4.7Gb) but when I put a 4.7 Gb blank in, there is a message informing me that no DVD medium is detected. If I put an 8.5 Gb DVD+R blank in the DVD recorder, I then receive a message that a 4.7 Gb DVD+R will suffice. Unless I go ahead and use (waste) a DL 8.5 Gb DVD+R it will not start recording. However, it will record to an 8.5 Gb DVD+R. How can I specify that I want to use a smaller DVD when the occasion calls for it? Thanks for any help!

Harry T.

Just one question before I answer... what media are you using??

Both Single Layer and Double Layer?

DC

Comment

I am using single layer on the 4.7 and DL on the 8.5, Memorex.
      Harry T

Comment

Originally posted by Harry T View Post