No announcement yet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi all,

I'm new to all this and thought i would try and back up some of my BD's so they don't get ruined but kids etc..

I recently built a new PC and im amazed how well the Avatar BD copied.

My father in-law tried on his pc and the total time from rip to burn was 18Hrs.

I did the rip - convert to 25gb - burn in 3hrs 15mins on my new pc !!!

Is this a good time scale for the Avatar BD ??

Also any tips please let me know them.

Cheers

paul

Hi all,

Built a new pc and managed to get Avatar to copy in 3hr10mins.

Not bad going really !!!!

Paul
    Last edited by maineman; 02-10-2011, 01:52 PM. Reason: Threads merged

Welcome,

I took the liberty of combining your posts.

No idea of your hardware and the actual process you used, but it sounds reasonable considering you decrypted and compressed a BD flick and burned a bkup.

There are tons of threads with various tips.
    One such....Do not compress on the initial rip from the BD disc.
    This will create a bottleneck of data transfer (slow things down) and cause unnecessary wear and tear on your BD drive.

Compress only after ripping the uncompressed files to your hdd.
    If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

You know how to whistle, don't you, Steve? You just put your lips together and... blow. | Lauren Bacall | "To Have and Have Not" (1944).

Comment

Congratulations, dude! I'm in the same boat! Avatar was one of the first Wow-movies I copied and compressed onto a single layer DVD on my newly built system (actual parts of PC in my signature) and I was absolutely stunned at the quality. Keep in mind, however, that this isn't the norm. Some movies don't particularly compress well. I had Sin City at 96% and it looked disgusting. I cut out the credits until it was uncompressed and made a perfect looking backup. That timeframe is great, by the way!

Comment

Hi