Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Blu ray copy Help

Hey all,

I have been using dvdfab for over 6 years and just recently decided to get into backing up my blu rays rather than doing just my dvds. I am currently running dvdfab 8.2.2.6 on Windows Vista. I have an external blu ray player LG BE14NU40 14x. When I first started, I noticed it was going to take over 9 hours to just read the disc and then an additional 5 hours to write the disc. It was averaging 1.00-1.25 Mb/s. I started to do some looking on here and found that if I downloaded imgburn it would speed the write speed up. So I downloaded it and put all the settings to my Phillips 6x discs and the AWS. I then tried Total Recall, it read the disc within 45 mins at an average of 9.00 Mb/s and wrote the disc in about 20 mins.

I thought everything was okay but then I tried to do Looper. It again went back to the 1.00 Mb/s read speed and was going to take about 8 hours. I exited out and went back to Imgburn to make sure everything was still set up properly. And of course, everything was still set properly as the last time I burned a blu ray. I did some more research and noticed that it would reduce the time if I copied the blu ray to my hard drive and then just write it to the disc from there. I did this for Looper and it took 1 & a half hours to read and then about 7 hours to write with a approx speed of 2.00 Mb/s.

This still seems quite odd to me because when I read everyone else's success with blu ray copying, they all talk about it taking 1 and a half for the whole process.