Newbie Question about copying a Blu Ray

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Question about copying a Blu Ray

Hello, I'm an admitted newbie looking for some help please. I've used DVDFab for DVDs for some time but now I have DVD-Fab Blu Ray copy but have never used it yet. I am soon buying an external Blu Ray writer/burner. A few questions please...
    1. Does DVDFab work about the same way for BRs as it does for DVDs. For example, will it first copy it to my HD and then burn it onto a blank BR? I will only have one BR writer/burner, so I can't insert a blank and the original at the same time.

2. Is a blank BR of 25 gb adequate for most BR movies? Is 50 better?

3. Is the quality of a backup/copied BR the exact same as original? Slight or noticable differences?

thank so much.

Hello, CheapTom : (Please excuse the long narrative)

1. During Clone/Burn process, you can choose to burn directly to a disc, or to write it to an ISO file on you hard drive for later burning. Neither method requires swapping back and forth and only need to swap out the source file with an empty disc just once. With all other modes you have a choice between writing the copy as a BD structure in folders, or as an ISO file suitable for burning at a later time either with DVD Fab or other 3rd party utility, such as the free Imgburn. Imgburn can also build an ISO file from a BD structure on your hard drive. Personally, I would recommend using Imgburn to burn discs as it offers a bit more flexibility. It has been around for a long time and is well trusted to successfully burn a disc.(Always choose to verify a burn, but this is no guarantee it will play properly in your player. It could be a compatibility issue with your player, or perhaps the file(s) were not created properly with Fab (the latter less likely than the former).