Surround sound problems with DVD > mp4

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DVD Ripper Surround sound problems with DVD > mp4

Hello all! Thank you in advance for reading my post and helping me with my problem. My computer experience is at a pretty high level, but I'm new at video conversion. Let me explain my situation, goals, and problems so that maybe someone can help.

Situation:

I have just built a home theater PC with a 1 terabyte hard drive, blu-ray drive, etc and I'm viewing it on a 38 inch RCA LCD TV. My computer is connected with HDMI for video, and Optical audio. I've verified through other software that my Windows 7 and hardware settings are correct for displaying high definition video and I've played DVDs in full Dolby pro logic.

Goals:

I would like to rip my current DVD collection to the 1 TB hard drive and play them on demand through WMP or another video playback option. I want near-to-lossless DVD quality. File size is not a large concern for me. I would like to keep the sizes to around 2-4 GB... It makes no sense that they be larger than the original, right? All of my DVDs are in wide screen format, so I want to preserve that aspect ratio. I want all of my converted video files to play back with 5.1/DTS (whatever the original should happen to be)

Problem:

I have been working with conversion to MP4 just because it seems to be a good medium for support vs quality. Is there a better format? I have used the generic mp4 profile to convert. Video bit rate is set to 2500. Frame rate I have left alone. Most cases it's 23. For the audio, I have tried 5.1 but most of the time only hear sound from one speaker when played. I've tried setting it for Pro Logic and Pro Logic II but the final file only plays back in stereo. Right clicking on the MP4 itself and selecting the Detail tab confirms that the file was only recorded in stereo.

so:

1) Is mp4 the best format for what I'm doing?