Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BD Ripper (3D Plus) BD to MKV best practices

Greetings all and Merry Christmas!

I'm new to DVDFab and have been researching the forum and FAQ for the better part of 2 days now learning about how to get the best quality conversions for my BD. I've used [other software] in the past however that was for DVD only and have been running into issues with [other software] and BD conversions. Plus change is always good.

I've searched high and low in an attempt to figure out what the best (generally speaking) settings are DVDFab for converting BD's. I'm thinking that I want to go the BD-to-MKV route as it appears to be the most recommended and one I am somewhat familiar with. I'll be using a Logitech Revue as the primary client for streaming from my DLNA Server (Twonky). I don't want to use DTS as the Revue currently does not support playback of DTS audio.

In my testing I've been using the "to MKV" option in BD Ripper with the "mkv.h264.ac3" profile. I'm selecting the main title video and for audio I'm typically choosing the DTS-HD/7.1 audio stream. In the conversion settings I select 2-pass and bump up the Bits/Pixel to the .200 range which provides about a 10,000kbps bitrate. For audio I'm leaving the bitrate at 448kbps and channel set to 5.1 multi. In the video effects config I leave the resize as-is and disable crop.

Do these settings sound about right in order to obtain a high-quality rip and conversion? I'm not too worried about file size however do want to save space if possible without sacrificing too much quality.

Is there any issue with my selecting the DTS stream as the source even though I do not want DTS in the converted output? It appears to be encoding it as AC3 5.1 properly in my testing.