X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

using 2 dvd drives at the same time

Hello,

I am trying to read off 2 internal dvd sata drives at the same time. I have an ASUS p5q-e mobo, with an intel q6600 quad processor, 8 gb ram, and vista 64. I have a bunch of dvd movies, which i want to convert to vobs/mkvs so i can store them on my computer and run them off my ps3. I use dvdfab platinum to do the ripping. However, both dvd drives won't run at the same time. i set one going, and then when i start the second, the first stops. even if i wait for the second to complete, the first wont start back up.

any way to get both running at the same time? would getting an external dvd drive work instead?

thanks for your help!

i have no experience in trying to run multiple instances of DVDFab. however from the release notes this feature has been available since DVDFab 5.2.5.0 (April 17, 2009).

you mention using dvdfab platinum. this is an older v5 release. since v6 the platinum name has been removed, the options are now separated.

please update to v6.

then retrieve a new key

please let us know if this is working for you. while you are updating and testing, someone with more experience in dvd to mobile options may post with more helpful advice.
    Last edited by troy512; 09-13-2009, 07:10 PM.

Comment

As an operating procedure, I have found that converting directly from the optical drives has always been fraught with problems; Audio synch, glitches at the layer break and SLOW!!!

A far better option is to rip multiple dvd's using full disc mode, DVD 9, to a folder (10-15mins each) and then set up a queue of multiple conversions. Using this method, I am able to achieve 10 2-pass conversions a day.
      "Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy." - Benjamin Franklin 1706-1790

Comment

Originally posted by GregiBoy View Post