Converting to iphone 3G and iPad 2

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DVD Ripper Converting to iphone 3G and iPad 2

I have an iPhone 3G and iPad 2. The specs for the iPhone 3G are 480x320 pixels. The ipad 2 is 768 x 1024.

When I convert the files, I am using DVD Ripper.

Why is it I am given choices larger than 480x320 pixels for the iPhone 3G? For example, I have Thor and the size of the file is 720x310 using H.264 and bit rate is 93 kbps. The movie played on my iPhone 3G. Why does it work?

When I convert to my iPad, I have just been using the same files (mp4 and mv4) that I have for my iPhone. They seem to work fine. Do I need to convert each DVD to both iPhone and iPad formats as is listed in DVDFab?

If I understand correctly, I think it also varies on how the move is created.

I'm new to this and there seems to be many options. I'm not looking at understanding every - just the basics so I can watch my DVD's on my iPhone and iPad.

Thank you.

Shawn

Hi Shawn: