This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bit rate and resolution

Noob here and trying to get my 'ultimate' settings for archiving my DVD's and playing them back on my media server(for now ps3)....

I have taken the advice of Gregiboy....: http://forum.dvdfab.com/showthread.php?t=543

I have a question though on bitrate, its not clear to me why such a low bitrate is acceptable? File size really doesnt matter to me, so I am willing to store large files for a true high quality rendering of my DVD....

1- What is the best bitrate to use, to achieve TRUE max quality?
    2- What is best resolution to use? The definition provided in the best practices confuses me a bit....I am in USA so NTSC standard is what almost all of my DVD's are....

Gregiboy's details on #2:

I personally feel that H264 is far better than Xvid at the same bitrate. I always advise newbies to start at around 1100 video bitrate and run some tests also with a higher bitrate and see if you can pick the difference.

Unfortunately, some of my older players will not play H264 so I stil use XVid (@ 1100) for them and I find the results more than acceptable.

I ocassionally sneak the bitrate up to 1500 when a title contains fast action scenes.

I'll expound my theory on the resolution that you should aim for:-

DVD's are usually composed at 720 x XXX (PAL) or 704 x XXX (NTSC). The XXX figure depends on what aspect ratio they were composed at.

I ALWAYS choose the closest resolution to the width of the DVD available because I feel that if you choose higer (or lower) you are asking Fab to interpolate either the missing pixels or combine the compressed ones and I feel that the upscaler in either the players or the TV does a better job. I generally leave the TV do it.

To maintain the 5.1 sound, just choose either generic.avi.xvid.audiocopy or generic.avi.h264.audiocopy profile and make sure that you select the Dolby Digital soundtrack.

I appreciate the help