Subtitle/audio sync and ouput choices

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DVD Ripper Subtitle/audio sync and ouput choices

I apologize up front as I am a newbie to this. I have searched through the forums and have not found a way to get around the issue I face so I am posting this.

For U.S. (English) DVDs I use HD Decrypter and then pass the resulting file through (xxxxxx) and everything has been great.

I have ripped several foreign (to me) films and require the English subtitles. To do this, I rip the DVD using DVD Copy first, then use DVD Ripper to convert the DVD Copy output to WMV, MP4, etc. I am doing this as it appears to be my only option to get the subtitles rendered in the video. Media center doesn't appear to be real intelligent when handling things like subtitles.

My issue is that as the movie progresses, the audio and subtitles get further and further behind the video. This really starts to be noticeable about 2/3rds of the way through the movie. I don't really care about the audio so much as I can't understand what they are saying anyway. But, it is very hard to watch subtitles and remember who was talking first when they appear 5 to 10 seconds later.

I need playback to work through Media Center (win 7) on XBOX extenders. I have tried outputting to WMV, MP4, etc. and get the same results. The audio and the subtitles get out of sync with the video. I can reproduce the problem with DVDFAB versions 6.2.1.8, 7.0.9.0, and 8.0.2.2. I have tried with default profiles and up through the highest bit rate possible.

The rip completes so there really isn't much in the logs. The video is clean, although I have seen instances where there is pixelization right before the audio starts to drag behind.

Platform is an Asus 6TD V2, i7 920, 6GB Kingston, 1.2TB (4 drives RAID 10) running win 7 64 bit with all the latest patches. Video is an HIS 5770 1GB DDR5 with the latest patches. Nothing has been overclocked.