Register For DVDFab Member >>

Go Back   DVDFab Forum > Software Support (English) > DVDFab Blu-ray Copy

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2017, 12:45 AM
bodine465 bodine465 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 12
Default File sizes using Lightning-Recording & Lightning-Shrink

I was having issues with Blu-ray Copy crashing all the time and figured out it was from my old ATI HD4800 video card and no longer updated drivers. Threw in a Radeon RX460 card, with up to date drivers, and all is good again.

Just ran a test using The Great Wall. Holy crap!! A 33 gig movie compressed and copied in under 20 minutes. Assuming the ability to utilize Lightning-Recording and Lightning-Shrink is the reason. Don't imagine those were available with the old card. Thing is, while I have the copy setting to BD25, the actual size of the file on the recorded disc is only 13.1 GB. Seems to play back start to finish and shows as 1920x1280, but I can't imagine it can be compressed that much without significant video degradation.

Is there a setting I should use or uncheck to get the least amount of compression needed to burn to a BD25 disc, while maintaining the speed? Or is the 13GB video as clean as the uncompressed original? Ultimately, I'll gladly sacrifice speed for video quality.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2017, 01:28 AM
casa8899 casa8899 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 46
Default File sizes using Lightning-Recording & Lightning-Shrink

Bro,

in fact there is a degrade for the video if u compressed and become only 13GB video as compared to 50GB untouched. and u can only notice it if u enlarge the video screen and also u will noticed there is certain dark or shallow background, the brightness is become very dark and the color skin tone become shallow
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2017, 02:30 AM
bodine465 bodine465 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 12
Default

That's what I figured. Need to figure out what is causing the extreme compression. Was never an issue before.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2017, 12:22 AM
signals's Avatar
signals signals is online now
Administrator - 守夜人
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 11,445
Default

casa8899, your post has been deleted. If you can't say it in the forum, you can't say it in a PM either. It is against the purpose of the forum to supply "hidden help" because no one else can benefit from it. Please do no repeat this, your PM privileges will become seriously restricted. You can send me your solution via PM, I can tell you instantly if it is OK.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2017, 01:28 PM
casa8899 casa8899 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 46
Default

Signal, pls kindly help to solve my problem "Full disc (BD50) compression, Task1 failed error=102" instantly, since if u can answer me instantly with other issues!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2017, 07:01 PM
bodine465 bodine465 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 12
Default

Still looking for a solution to this. Tried copying "Logan", using Main Movie. Shows file size 29.951 GB, to be compressed to 22.461 GB. Actual file size was 14.1 GB. Tried changing the BD25 writable media size to 23098 and 23866, thinking it might use a different compression means, but it made no difference. Even tried copying the full video to the HD, using BD50 mode (which worked BTW), then used that file to try to convert to BD25. Still came out to 14 GB.

I tried disabling the GPU codecs to software, which resulted in an estimated copy time of 5 hours. Didn't matter anyways, because it caused my computer to freeze up solid after 3%. Reboot time..... Even tried using version 9, but it didn't recognize the new video card and froze up again around 3% again. Reboot again.....

Any idea on how to resolve this? At this point, I'm stuck making sub-par video copies, which kinda defeats the purpose of this software.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2017, 01:36 AM
90312's Avatar
90312 90312 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,072
Default

Look at the target size (see attachment) I tried Logan main movie and for some reason it defaulted to 8100MB. I just switched to BD50 briefly and back to BD25 and it was correct.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg setting.jpg (35.3 KB, 9 views)
__________________
How to post the internal log


Things should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler.
Albert Einstein

Last edited by 90312; 06-24-2017 at 01:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2017, 03:58 AM
bodine465 bodine465 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 12
Default

That's where I'm getting the 29.951 to 22.461 estimate, but after it's done ripping & compressing the video, the true size is only 14.2 GB.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2017, 04:14 AM
90312's Avatar
90312 90312 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,072
Default

Okay I'm checking main movie of "Logan" now. I'll report back in a short.
__________________
How to post the internal log


Things should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler.
Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-24-2017, 04:36 AM
90312's Avatar
90312 90312 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 6,072
Default

Maybe a little small?
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled.png (11.7 KB, 15 views)
__________________
How to post the internal log


Things should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler.
Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump