This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Product Naming

I am not a marketing expert but I think it would be worthwhile considering changing the name of the free version of DVD. Here are my thoughts:
    • It seems that every 3rd post raises the question is it the free version or the paid version.
    • The new policy on updates on the free version makes it distinct from the paid version.
    • The free version can have its own forum group.
    • There seems to be continued confusion on features between the free version vs. paid version.

Personally, if I am going to use something more than a few times I pay for it. If it is freeware I make a contribution. I develop S/W and I know the effort it takes.

Maybe DVDFab could be released with 2 versions - DVDFab and FabFree (my name for it).

Thoughts?

Originally posted by billbell52 View Post
    I am not a marketing expert but I think it would be worthwhile considering changing the name of the free version of DVD. Here are my thoughts:
    • It seems that every 3rd post raises the question is it the free version or the paid version.
    • The new policy on updates on the free version makes it distinct from the paid version.
    • The free version can have its own forum group.
    • There seems to be continued confusion on features between the free version vs. paid version.

Personally, if I am going to use something more than a few times I pay for it. If it is freeware I make a contribution. I develop S/W and I know the effort it takes.

Maybe DVDFab could be released with 2 versions - DVDFab and FabFree (my name for it).

Thoughts?
    This is an excellent idea. We've discussed this in the past and at least one of the obstacles is how to filter/control the posting.
    It seems no matter how extensive the instructions/requests on how, where, what to post, members all too frequently do not post essential info...like what application, what version, etc., etc.