Which Product do I Need ??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Which Product do I Need ??

Hi, Just finished my first HTPC. Intel based Win 7/64. with XBMC as a front end.
    Now I want to build my liabrary on an internal 2TB drive. My Library is small consisting of about 50 movies and 20 concert dvd's and a couple of Blu-ray's
    Because of the small size I don't think that I need compression.
    For the concerts I would like to maintain full menu functionality and the best in audio and video quality,Does that mean that I need .iso files??
    For the movies I'm fine with just the main movie part, .mkv I think??

As you can tell I'm new to this so please excuse my ignorance

So which product do I need to get ?
    DVDFab Ripper ?
    DVDFab Copy ?
    DVDFab encoder?
    Is there one product that will do everthing for me??
    Thanks...

For original quality (video and audio) on DVD and Blu-ray you would need DVD Copy and Blu-ray Copy. You can store these as ISOs if you want to, but writing them as VIDEO_TS or BDMV folders also works. Can't see why you would want to make MKVs at all if you want no compression, but you would need the Ripper modules if you do.
    Supplying DVDFab Logs in the Forum ...........................User Manual PDF for DVDFab v11................................ Guide: Using Images in Posts
    Supplying DMS Logs to Developers................................Enlarger AI FAQ.....

Comment

Thanks signals.
      1) So DVD Copy will do .iso or VIDEO_TS but will not do .mkv ?

2) And DVD Ripper will do .mkv but will not do .iso or VIDEO_TS ?

3) What about DVD encoder will it rip? or does it just change containers ?

Comment

Originally posted by rtate View Post
        Thanks signals.
        1) So DVD Copy will do .iso or VIDEO_TS but will not do .mkv ? CORRECT! Nor does it do Blu-rays. Blu-ray Copy would be needed for that.

2) And DVD Ripper will do .mkv but will not do .iso or VIDEO_TS ? CORRECT!