Forced Subtitle Problem For ISO

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Forced Subtitle Problem For ISO

I am rather new at this so please forgive me if I use the wrong terminology.

I am creating an ISO file of the Bluray movie Olympus Has Fallen (US Region 1 Version) using the Main Movie function of DVDFab. I have all English audio tracks selected, and I have all English subtitles selected as well.

When the Koreans speak in the movie their forced English subtitles are not visible. If I turn on either of the English subtitles, I see subtitles for everything, not just the foreign language. It seems one subtitle track is just the language translation, and the other includes who is speaking (e.g. "Helicopter Pilot: Roger That!").

Am I doing something wrong or does Main Movie for BluRay not support Forced Subtitles for some reason?

I have done quite a bit of testing and the strange thing is if I change the Copy Mode from Main Movie to Full Disc, when I play that ISO back I do get the forced subtitles for foreign languages.

If it makes a difference, my main player is XMBC but I am using PowerDVD for testing on my PC prior. Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Apparently that forced sub is set by navigational commands rather than flagged items and these are not taken into account when only the main movie is ripped.

MultiMakeMKV: MakeMKV batch processing (Win)
    MultiShrink
    : DVD Shrink batch processing
    Offizieller Ãœbersetzer von DVD Shrink deutsch

Comment

Thanks for your response. A few followup questions if I may:

1.) Is this something that might change in the future? Or is it not possible for technical reasons?

2.) How rare are forced subtitles that behave this way? It seems strange I have no way to turn this on at all using Main Movie. But if it's a rarity then I don't care so much

Thanks.

Comment

Originally posted by PretzelJezus View Post
        Thanks for your response. A few followup questions if I may: