This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Copy to Thumb/Flash drive

I have the registered DVD to DVD version and wish to copy a DVD to a Thumb/Flash drive. I looked at the DVD to Mobile and listings did not apply-Unless it is "Generic". Would I copy to desktop, then copy to the Flashdrive? Do both (if applicable) files be "highlighted" and copied? (Audio/Video). I am a novice and unless the directions appear on the screen are very friendly, something may be lost in the translation. I suspect I may have to obtain a 30 day trial app. first.. Appreciate any help with this task. Thanks

Rip the movie to your hard drive and then copy it to the thumb drive.
    The thumb drive is formatted as Fat32 which will not accept files more that 4gb but you can reformat most of them to NTFS to get away from this restriction.

I have done this with a 16gb thumb drive many times.

Comment

What are you trying to achieve? A full copy of the DVD on the thumb drive?

And how do you intend to play it or what do you want to do with it?
      "Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy." - Benjamin Franklin 1706-1790

Comment

Here is a link to detailed instructions for formatting a flash drive from FAT32 to NTFS.

FAQ - How do I format a USB Flash Drive to NTFS file system? To enable NTFS on your USB Flash Drive drive

Comment

As a side note my test show that formatting a flash drive from FAT32 To NTFS increases the transfer rate by 23% .

That in itself is worth the 5 minutes or less it takes to make the change.

Your mileage may vary.

Comment

FAT32 should work for copying to VIDEO_TS folders, but not ISO files. I echo the advice to write to hard drive first, then transfer. Many thumb drives don't support the write speeds that DVDFab needs.
            Supplying DVDFab Logs in the Forum ...........................User Manual PDF for DVDFab v11................................ Guide: Using Images in Posts