This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

average speed for compression bluray?

Just wondering what is the average speed of compression for bluray?? I am trying to compress Smokin aces from about 28 gig to 25 gig with gpu acceleration on getting copy speed of: 1.41 MB/s. VERY slow i also tried it with gpu acceleration off and i get same result(1.41 MB/s.). It copies at 13.5 MB/s. without compression on the average(blu-ray), is that normal?? Thanks RiZ

windows 7
    amd athlon 2 x2 235e dual-core
    amd hd4650 graphics card
    6 gig ram
    750 gig H.Dr.
    and buffalo HD/Blu-ray muliti-media optical drive

Thanks

PS- if the Blu-ray movie i am backing up does not need compression it does all tasks including writing to blank BD-R25 in a hour.
    windows experience index= 4.9

I am new to decrypting and ripping of Blu-rays, but have been doing DVD's for years with Fengtao's software(DVDFAB) with GREAT results. Thanks!!
    Last edited by rizzo7883; 01-26-2010, 06:55 PM.

My compression for movies bout the same are 1.9 mb's/sec and 4 to 4.5 hrs.
    Windows xp
    intel dual core
    4 gb ram

Comment

The same scenario 28gb to 25gb would take me about an hour and 15 minutes for compress and burn. I am also running Win 7 with 4GB memory, however, I have a Quad Core Extreme Chip at 3.667 ghz. I really think the quad core is the difference maker when it comes to compression. I also have 2 Geforce 8800's SLI together, but I don't think the video card or cards make a difference. I'll have to check out this GPU acceleration setting. Never even knew it was there. I assume this should make it even faster??

Comment

My new laptop (HP dv8t , i7-Q820M, GT-230M) does the BD9/1080P compression at about 3-5 MB/s, haven't tried the BD to BD compression yet or tweaked anything. The speeds will improve as the GPU acceleration improves with future releases of DVDFab.