This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

When to choose clone versus Full Disc

I am new to DVDFab and have a couple of questions related to the DVD to DVD function. I've got a stack of DVD+R DL DVD's and thought I'd use them for my backups. Obviously, I don't need any compression with the double layer DVD's but here's my first question:

When using the DVD to DVD option (along with double layer DVD's), what is the difference between selecting Full Disc versus Clone as a backup option? It seems that the quality would be the same since no compression would take place regardless when using double layer DVD's. I did notice Full Disc seems to offer some options prior to starting the recording process (taking things out) versus the Clone option which just proceeds with the recording. However, is there any difference in the quality? If there's no difference in backup quality, should I just use Full Disc to enable me to take anything out that I choose?

On an entirely different note: does DvdFab function just as well in X64 Vista as it does in X86 Vista? I have a retail version of Vista and have both the discs so I can run either 32 bit or 64 bit.

Last question. I am familiar with programs like ImgBurn that burn discs. However, what would be the point in using that program along with DVDFab? It seems like I've read information about people using that program to do the actual burn to disc but I am not sure why since DVDfab has the ability to accomplish all tasks (at least in the DVD to DVD option). So I don't see the point ImgBurn being used along with DVDFab unless there are other reasons aside from the DVD to DVD function.

Any feedback is appreciated.
    Last edited by scott7; 10-01-2009, 01:40 AM.

Welcome to the DVDFab user family.