Best Rip from VOB

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DVD Ripper Best Rip from VOB

Got an issue for you. What is the best way to rip a movie from a VOB and still retain the video quality of the VOB? Before I left home for Afghanistan, I copied the HBO John Adams Series to my hard drive as VOB files. I now want to rip them to MKV, AVI or other but retain the video quality of the VOB. I'm finding it next to impossible. There continues to be some grainy-ness poping up in the rip. Should I rip it as a BR file even though it's not? I just can't seem to get a good 720p presentation. It's my first time doing this so a step by step would be nice.

You may be asking too much of the conversion process. The original DVDs are 480p, so you are trying to upscale them. Try converting to MKV or MP4/M4V at something close to the original size using the h264 codec, and set the bits per pixel to around 0.3. Convert the audio to AAC or MP3 if file size is an issue or if you have A/V sync problems.
    Supplying DVDFab Logs in the Forum ...........................User Manual PDF for DVDFab v11................................ Guide: Using Images in Posts
    Supplying DMS Logs to Developers................................Enlarger AI FAQ.....

Comment

Can't you use the Video Converter and go from VOB to MKV and use the MKV.Passthrough profile??

I have done the same with my BD rips, mkv.passthrough just puts the original files into an MKV container.

The best quality will be the original aspect dimensions...if its a DVD then keep it at dvd resolution.
      Last edited by kdparton; 01-01-2012, 05:21 PM.

Comment

You can, but for a DVD it will never be better than the original VOB file, which you can have with VOB Passthrough in DVD Ripper.
        Supplying DVDFab Logs in the Forum ...........................User Manual PDF for DVDFab v11................................ Guide: Using Images in Posts