Audio Level issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

DVD Ripper Audio Level issues

I've been using DVDFab for a long time to just do uncompressed rips and store them in iso format. I've since moved onto the next progression and started converting them to mp4 for obvious reasons. That being said I'm still fairly new to this and have a few questions.

Settings:
    DVDFab 9.1.7.1
    H264
    Encoding Method: High quality 2 pass
    Video Quality: High quality
    Codec: AAC
    5.1 Multichannel
    I've also tested "Copy audio" for same as source and seen no difference in #1

1) It seems like my rips come out with a lot lower sound level than the original uncompressed iso. Am I doing something wrong?

2) I've been using "High Quality" as a standard but I've noticed that when DVDFab scans the original iso it varies on what it selects whether it be Normal, High quality or customized. Does DVDFab scan for the best optimized settings to get the smallest file size or should I continue selecting High Quality for each file?

When making your mp4, after selecting the source, click "EDIT" and you can increase the volume of the mp4. See attached:
    Attached Files
    How to post the internal log

Things should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler.
    Albert Einstein

Comment

bp123
      In addition to the suggestion that 90312 provided, I would point out that when set for audio copy, DVDFab makes no changes to the audio stream itself, so if audiocopy rips play back with less volume, it is most likely something in your playback device, perhaps a setting or the way the different decoder chipsets work. I have noticed the same thing in playing back mp4s and I have switched to using AAC audio with the volume set to about 130%. The volume setting may be in a different place in the version of DVDFab that you are using, I would recommend an update to the current version.